Cranfest in the Courtyard

Last Thursday, I attended a delightful concert at the Harwich Community Center. Cranfest in the Courtyard presented folk singer Zoe Mulford, an American currently living in Manchester, England. Besides her impeccable vocals and lovely guitar and banjo playing, three things were particularly relevant to me at this time in my life. 

  • I am currently trying to tell stories in chunks of about 100,000 words, plus or minus. She crafted marvelous tales that took three minutes or so, including refrains. That was pretty humbling.
  • One of her songs described something I had never heard of, but should have, considering that my novels are set in 1840s America. “American wakes” were held by family members of Irish lads about to emigrate to the United States. They knew they were never going to see their kin again. Very poignant. 
  • Check out this video of Zoe singing her song that has since been covered by Joan Baez: The President Sang Amazing Grace. Unforgettable.

One last thing, there are two concerts left in Cranfest’s 2019 season – August 15 and 22. I highly recommend them. Bob Weiser of WOMR radio is the convivial host. 

Published by haaji99

For ten years, I conveyed my passion for history as a high school teacher. Then I segued to professions for which I had no formal training: co-owning a summer camp, farming, founding a participatory science museum, co-owning a wilderness expedition program for teenagers, teaching entrepreneurship at the college level, woodworking, and leading a rural arts organization. Now an author, I draw lore and wisdom from all those professions, and joy from the thought that I am once again making history come alive to my audience. My wife and I lived and worked on a farm in Central Pennsylvania for 41 years. We currently reside on Cape Cod with our Great Dane and 2 cats. We have three adult children and two grandchildren.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started