Buffalo Bill Cody

undefined One of the coolest museums I have visited recently is the Buffalo Bill Center of the West in Cody, WY. Cody was a Pony Express rider, a soldier in the Union army, a bison hunter, a scout during the Indian Wars, and a masterful showman. Whether you think of Buffalo Bill Cody as a hero or “not so much,” he is truly one of the larger than life icons of America’s 19th Century.

Buffalo Bill’s Wild West toured the United States and Europe from 1883 until well into the 20th Century. When they set up camp in Ambrose Park, NY in 1894, the cast of hundreds was able to play to 20,000 audience members at a time.

I was fascinated by the model (pictured above) of the Wild West encampment for a two of reasons.

First, his homage to the Old West made ample use of modern technology. According to the display graphics the show “contracted with Edison Illuminating Company of Brooklyn for the largest private electric plant then in use. Its dynamos powered three searchlights, 46 arc lights and nearly two thousand incandescent lamps.”

Second, although the acts played to stereotypes and usually portrayed whites as the good guys and Indians as the bad guys, he employed many Indian and African-American horsemen as re-enactors.

Go to this link for motion pictures of Cody’s Wild West in New York in 1910.

Published by haaji99

For ten years, I conveyed my passion for history as a high school teacher. Then I segued to professions for which I had no formal training: co-owning a summer camp, farming, founding a participatory science museum, co-owning a wilderness expedition program for teenagers, teaching entrepreneurship at the college level, woodworking, and leading a rural arts organization. Now an author, I draw lore and wisdom from all those professions, and joy from the thought that I am once again making history come alive to my audience. My wife and I lived and worked on a farm in Central Pennsylvania for 41 years. We currently reside on Cape Cod with our Great Dane and 2 cats. We have three adult children and two grandchildren.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started