Things I Do If My Writing Gets Stuck

There’s a wonderful movie called The Wife in which [alleged author] Jonathan Price locks [the real author] Glenn Close in the study until she has written some more pages. 

That would never work for me. Once I’m stuck, I’m stuck. But I know how to get myself unstuck.

The key is to provide a distraction that allows my brain to relax and free-associate. Oftentimes I return to the keyboard with a solution to my problem.

Here are my steps, from easiest to most time consuming.

  1. Go pee. I’m serious. This works half the time. 
  2. Take a shower. As I write this, it’s noteworthy that my first two solutions take place in the bathroom. No commentary. No judgement. 
  3. Go for a walk. Now, in my case, I have an advantage. My Great Dane is happy to accompany me to the beach, but somehow not disappointed if my breakthrough comes early and we turn around right away. Sidetip: Keep walking. More ideas are likely to flow and the exercise will do you good.
  4. Clean a [metaphorical] closet. It doesn’t have to be a big task. Oil a squeaky hinge. Tune up a bike. Deadhead the basil. The chances are this will break the logjam, and has the added benefit of accomplishing something. Hmm. Periodic chores, like doing the laundry, making lunch, or paying bills are too mundane and don’t work for me. Is this true for others?
  5. Do some research. This is another one of my advantages. As a writer of historical fiction, I have to root my books in historical fact. I have a stack of non-fiction books that call to me when I’m stuck.
  6. Create something. When all else fails, I put down my writing for a longer period and engage in a creative project that keeps my right brain limber. Here are pictures of two of my latest distractions.

I would like to hear from others out there. To all those engaged in a creative process: what do you do to get yourself unstuck?

Published by haaji99

For ten years, I conveyed my passion for history as a high school teacher. Then I segued to professions for which I had no formal training: co-owning a summer camp, farming, founding a participatory science museum, co-owning a wilderness expedition program for teenagers, teaching entrepreneurship at the college level, woodworking, and leading a rural arts organization. Now an author, I draw lore and wisdom from all those professions, and joy from the thought that I am once again making history come alive to my audience. My wife and I lived and worked on a farm in Central Pennsylvania for 41 years. We currently reside on Cape Cod with our Great Dane and 2 cats. We have three adult children and two grandchildren.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started